Like Us on Facebook


The World Health Organization (WHO) was established on April 7th, 1948, and is currently headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland. With 194 member countries and working in approximately 150 countries, the WHO directs and coordinates different programs and funds to “build a better, healthier future for people all over the world.” A notable objective of the WHO is to work with other UN agencies and non-governmental organizations to solve complex and multifaceted health issues on the global scale. Having been successful in many of its endeavors, the WHO has directed its focus on six main priorities. These include advancing universal health coverage, combatting communicable and noncommunicable diseases, addressing the challenge of mental health issues, expanding countries’ abilities to respond to public health threats, working towards equal access to medical products, and promoting education about health issues. As the WHO, “together we strive to combat diseases... ensure the safety of the air people breathe, the food they eat, the water they drink, and the medicines and vaccines they need.”

Position Papers are mandatory, and must be turned in to the dais by 11:59PM on Nov 5, 2017. The dais’ e-mail address is Late position papers will not be considered for an award unless an extension has been requested by the delegate and approved by the dais at least 24 hours in advance.

Further questions or inquiries can be directed to the dais at

Topic 1: Malnourishment and Food Security

Topic 2: Mental Health Infrastructure

Open the Background Guide Here


Teya McGuire


Teya McGuire is a current senior and IB diploma candidate at Inglemoor High School. She began MUN in sophomore year and this will be her third time attending PACMUN. Outside of MUN, she is also a section leader and band council member in the IHS Wind Ensemble, a member of the IHS captain’s council, a member of the IHS Girl’s Varsity Tennis Team, President of the IHS chapter of Amnesty International, Treasurer of the IHS Chinese Club, and part of the Washington Youth Summit for Equality leadership team. As director, she’s excited to help launch the WHO for the first time at PACMUN and aims to make the committee highly engaging and interesting for all involved!

Shaan Brar


Shaan is currently a senior at the International Community School in Kirkland. This is Shaan’s second time staffing a Model United Nations conference, but first time staffing at PACMUN. He has been in Model UN since his freshman year and has been to every single PACMUN conference since its creation in 2014. Outside of Model UN, Shaan enjoys being outdoors any chance he can get, running, as well as working out. Shaan is very excited to serve on your WHO dais for PACMUN 2017!

Aditi Ekbote

Assistant Director

Aditi Ekbote is a sophomore at Tesla STEM High School and has been a part of Model United Nations for two years. She has been a delegate in multiple conferences- including WASMUN and PACMUN 2016- and is very excited to be staffing for PACMUN this year. Aditi loves the fact that MUN empowers students to discuss and work to solve pressing real-world issues around the world. In her free time, Aditi enjoys reading, playing her cello, and going to her Martial Arts class. She is looking forward to making PACMUN 2017’s WHO a wonderful and enriching experience for all delegates.

Katherine Holo

Assistant Director

Katherine Holo is a current sophomore at Interlake High School. In just one year of MUN, Katherine has attended four conferences and PACMUN marks her first time staffing. Katherine loves discussing everything MUN and international affairs, especially topics relating to world health. Outside of MUN, Katherine enjoys playing premier soccer, DECA, being a Guest Ambassador at the Pacific Science Center. In her spare time, Katherine enjoys creating new playlists, binge-watching television series, and taking unnecessarily long naps. Katherine is extremely excited for the inaugural year of the WHO at PACMUN 2017 and she can’t wait to create an amazing experience for all!